Diana Nyad TedWOMEN Reflection

“Never, Ever Give Up”

 

In Diana’s inspirational talk, she spoke of her biggest life accomplishment where she swam all the way from Cuba to Florida at the age of 64. She mentioned not only the great successes of this amazing trek, but also the severe challenges she faced along the way. She made previous attempts at this long distance swim and even though she was unable to make it those times around, she persisted that one day she would achieve this amazing dream of hers, and she sure did. Another piece of her talk that stood out to me was her pure and humble attitude in regards to her team and why this was so important for her to accomplish. She made a mention as to the point of her being unable to complete this dangerous, long, and straining swim if it were not for the support and aid consistently around her. In the end, she never gave up and achieved the unthinkable which is really very admirable to me.

In regards to my own personal dreams, I have always gone back and forth with positives and negatives in each situation. More recently, college has been that one major dream and focus of mine as I am a senior and sent in my applications in the past few months. I always find myself thinking about where I will be next year. While this sounds like a simple idea, it is going to take a lot of patience and smart decision-making on my behalf in this last semester of high school, which is something that does occasionally scare me. However with that said, I am a firm believer in that whatever happens will happen for a reason. Motivation and filling my life with happy things are the two important pieces that consistently keep me on track and positive regardless of the situation I may be in. Diana’s talk was very reassuring to me in the sense that although life may not be perfect, and things don’t always pan out the way I might expect them to, that if there is a will there is always a way.

Click here to watch her inspiring talk:

*Image labeled for non-commercial reuse

 

4 thoughts on “Diana Nyad TedWOMEN Reflection

  1. Taylor, Always hold on to that mantra…”everything happens for a reason.” Of course, not everything that happens is positive. I have faced many challenges, defeats, and losses. In the moment, it can be difficult, if not impossible, to see the “reason” and, in some cases, we have to create the reason for ourselves by choosing a new path, by never giving up. I am so excited to find out where you will choose to be next year. There is a community out there right now that will be blessed by your presence. They don’t know how lucky they will be ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

